Hi, this is Sukkar.

In Japan, there was an election of upper house on July 11th., and the Democratic Party, which has been the ruling party after they won the last year’s lower house election, failed to gain the majority this time. We will have to face this long unstable political situation for some more years.

Our Egyptian friends who knows about this situation in Japan may be surprised to know the big contrast between our two countries. A couple days ago, I was asked by one of my Egyptian friend why  Japanese prime ministers should be changed so often and I could not find clear-cut answer for it.  I think I have to think about it more seriously.

Well, let’s go for today’s topic!!

Do you know the robot-anime called GUNDAM?

I enjoyed watching its TV serial when I was in elementary school.

And I got to know that this year celebrates its 30 year anniversary!!

So, you can guess my age, hahaha.

Recent news told us that there have been plans to make real size GUNDAM commemorating the anniversary, and just now they are showing their face to the public in 2 places, Odaiba in Tokyo and Shizuoka.

This site shows the images of GUNDAM in Shiokaze Kouen Park in Odaiba.

http://gigazine.net/index.php?/news/comments/2090718_gundam_night/

And you can see another GUNDAM in Shizuoka (which will be made public on July 24th.) at;

http://www.itmedia.co.jp/news/articles/1007/07/news070.html

Last year, when the Japan Foundation organized lectures of cartoonist Mr. Go Nagai in Kuwait, Anman, and Cairo, I was surprised to know how much Arab people love Mazinger Z and Grendizer. As you know, it was Nagai-san who invented the idea to built in operator’s cockpit in the body of the robot.

And the followers of Nagai-san developed his idea into the concept called ‘Mobile Suit’ in GUNDAM. The idea of one good robot fights against one bad robot  turned into the idea of actual warfare which is fought by humans using mass-produced robot-like Mobile Suits. It seems to me that the robot anime after GUNDAM, because of the introduction of Mobile Suit concept, has gained more actuality and hallucinate us to be experiencing the real war. I can remember how much I sympathized with Amro Ray, the main character of the original GUNDAM, who was torn apart between his duty to fight and his hatred against the inhumanity of warfare.

The August issue of anime magazine, “NEWTYPE” has reached our office and it should be available at the library soon. It specially features the new robot anime titled “GOTHICMADE,” produced by Mr. Mamoru Nagano, one of the main creators of GUNDAM mobile suits.This anime film will be completed and screened in Japan next year.  Although I am not a serious anime-fan, still I am very much curious about if this story has relevance to the difficult age we are living in, which I believe GUNDAM had sharply.

You can come and enjoy the most latest idea of robot anime of Japan through the magazine.

The website of “NEWTYPE“: http://anime.webnt.jp/

